Buyer-intent comparison
AI Writing Tool Pricing: Cost Per Article Compared
One finished 1,500-word SEO article costs $5.27 on Writesonic Starter, $3.90 on Frase Starter, and about 9 cents drafted through the Claude Sonnet 5 API — the same words, a 59-fold spread. That gap is not about writing quality, because most of these tools call the same underlying models. It exists because nobody sells you an article: one vendor meters articles, two meter seats, one meters documents without saying how often they reset, and the APIs meter tokens.
Breakdown Outline
Quick verdict Nobody sells you an article Cost per article, every route The budget AI writer is extinct Two per-article tools, opposite ladders Jasper costs 12x Copy.ai per seat What the $5 actually buys What we could not confirm FAQQuick verdict
Decide whether the hard part is writing or deciding what to write. That answer, not the plan price, sets what you should pay.
Nobody sells you an article
What you produce is a finished post. Almost nothing in this category is priced that way, and the four meters in play cannot be compared without converting them first.
- Articles. Writesonic publishes "15 AI articles per month" on Starter; Frase publishes "10 articles and 50 audit pages each month" on Starter. These two are the only tools we found selling the actual output unit.
- Seats. Jasper Pro is priced per seat with no word or credit allowance published for that plan at all. Copy.ai Chat sells 5 seats with "Unlimited Words in Chat". Claude Pro is one seat.
- Documents. Surfer sells "120 Documents" on Discovery and "360 Documents" on Standard, and its pricing page does not state whether those reset monthly or annually — a 12x difference in what you are buying.
- Tokens. The model APIs price input and output separately per million tokens, so a long brief costs you money before a single word is written.
Notice what is missing from that list: words. The word-count allowance that defined this category — Jasper's 50,000 words a month, Writesonic's word credits — has quietly disappeared from every pricing page we read. Writesonic no longer uses the terms "words" or "credits" as billing units anywhere on its pricing page. Any comparison that ranks these tools by monthly word limits is describing a market that no longer exists.
Plans and allowances read in September 2026 from jasper.ai/pricing, writesonic.com/pricing, frase.io/pricing, copy.ai/pricing, surferseo.com/pricing, claude.com/pricing and the OpenAI API pricing page.
Cost per article, every route
To compare a per-article plan against a per-token API we need one unit. We use a 1,500-word SEO article throughout, and estimate it at roughly 2,000 output tokens at about 1.33 tokens per English word. For the API rows we cost a realistic drafting session rather than a lucky one-shot: a brief, an outline, a draft and two revision rounds with the piece resent as context each time, which we model at 15,000 input and 6,000 output tokens. Both the word-to-token ratio and the session size are our estimates and are labelled as such.
| Route | Published rate | Billing unit | Cost per 1,500-word article |
|---|---|---|---|
| Writesonic Growth | $399/mo, 50 AI articles | Articles | $7.98 |
| Writesonic Basic | $199/mo, 25 AI articles | Articles | $7.96 |
| Jasper Pro, at 10 articles/mo | $59/mo annual, per seat | Seat, no allowance published | $5.90 |
| Writesonic Starter | $79/mo, 15 AI articles | Articles | $5.27 |
| Frase Starter, monthly billing | $49/mo, 10 articles | Articles | $4.90 |
| Frase Starter, annual billing | $39/mo, 10 articles | Articles | $3.90 |
| Frase Professional, annual | $103/mo, 40 articles | Articles | $2.58 |
| Frase Scale, annual | $239/mo, 100 articles | Articles | $2.39 |
| Copy.ai Chat, at 10 articles/mo | $24/mo annual, 5 seats | Seats, unlimited words | $2.40 |
| Claude Pro, at 10 articles/mo | $17/mo annual | Seat | $1.70 |
| Claude Pro, at 30 articles/mo | $17/mo annual | Seat | $0.57 |
| Claude Opus 5 API | $5 / $25 per 1M tokens | Tokens | $0.23 |
| Claude Sonnet 5 API | $2 / $10 per 1M tokens | Tokens | $0.09 |
| gpt-5 API | $1.25 / $10 per 1M tokens | Tokens | $0.08 |
| Claude Haiku 4.5 API | $1 / $5 per 1M tokens | Tokens | $0.05 |
| gpt-5-mini API | $0.25 / $2 per 1M tokens | Tokens | $0.02 |
| gpt-4o-mini API | $0.15 / $0.60 per 1M tokens | Tokens | $0.01 |
Plan prices and allowances are vendor-published. The cost column is our arithmetic: per-article plans are the monthly price divided by the published article allowance, seat plans are the monthly price divided by a stated output volume, and API rows apply the published token rates to our estimated 15,000-input, 6,000-output drafting session. Seat and API rows assume you actually produce that volume — at lower output they cost more per article.
Two things fall out of that table. The first is that the per-article tools cluster between $2.39 and $7.98 while the APIs sit between one and twenty-three cents. On a single clean pass rather than our five-step session, Sonnet 5 drops to about 2 cents and the Writesonic Starter gap widens from 59x to roughly 240x. The second is that ordering by advertised price and ordering by cost per article give different answers: Writesonic Basic at $199 is more expensive per article than Writesonic Starter at $79, and Copy.ai at $24 undercuts Jasper at $59 by well over half.
The budget AI writer is extinct
This is the finding that matters most if you arrived from a roundup. The cheap dedicated AI writing tool — the $16 to $29 a month tier that this entire genre of article was built on — has been withdrawn across the category, and a lot of published advice has not caught up.
- Writesonic starts at $79. Its cheapest plan is Starter at $79 a month, $948 a year. The individual plans commonly quoted at $16 to $49 have been discontinued. Its pricing page now splits into "For Brands" and "For Agencies" and measures prompts tracked daily, site audits and AI articles.
- Copy.ai has a missing middle. Chat is $29 a month, or $24 on annual billing, for 5 seats. The next tier up is Growth at $1,000 a month. There is nothing between them — a 42-fold step. Any claim that Copy.ai grows with your business is describing a jump most businesses will never make.
- Jasper has no entry tier. The only self-serve plan is Pro at $69 a month, or $59 on annual billing, per seat, with a 7-day trial. Business is quote-only. There is no Creator or Starter plan below it.
- Surfer starts at $49 a month billed yearly, and only annual prices are displayed.
So the floor for a dedicated AI writing or content platform is now roughly $39 to $79 a month, while a general chatbot subscription that calls the same class of model is $17 to $20. That inversion is the single most useful thing to know before you buy. It also explains why Writesonic no longer belongs in a straight fight with a chatbot: its pricing page now headlines AI-visibility tracking across ten platforms, ChatGPT among them. We priced what its pipeline buys over a chat window in Writesonic vs ChatGPT for SEO blog posts.
Two per-article tools, opposite ladders
Writesonic and Frase both sell articles per month, which makes them the only two tools here that can be compared without converting anything. Their ladders run in opposite directions.
| Tier | Price | Articles/mo | Per article | Direction |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Writesonic Starter | $79 | 15 | $5.27 | Rises 52% |
| Writesonic Basic | $199 | 25 | $7.96 | |
| Writesonic Growth | $399 | 50 | $7.98 | |
| Frase Starter | $39 | 10 | $3.90 | Falls 39% |
| Frase Professional | $103 | 40 | $2.58 | |
| Frase Scale | $239 | 100 | $2.39 |
Writesonic prices are as displayed on its pricing page; Frase prices are its annual-billing figures ($49, $129 and $299 on monthly billing). Per-article column is our arithmetic.
Frase behaves like a volume discount and Writesonic behaves like the opposite. Moving up the Frase ladder cuts the per-article rate by 39%, which is what you expect from a tool selling articles. Moving up the Writesonic ladder raises it by 52%, which only makes sense once you notice that articles are not the product. What grows across Writesonic's tiers is prompts tracked daily (50 to 200), site audits (10 to 50) and users (1 to 3). It repositioned from AI writer to generative engine optimisation platform, tracking how a brand appears in AI answers — so on its bigger plans you are buying visibility monitoring and receiving articles as a by-product.
That has a practical consequence. If you genuinely want articles and nothing else, Writesonic's cheapest plan is its best value and every upgrade is a worse deal per article. If you want AI-visibility tracking, ignore the article count entirely and price the tool on prompts and audits — the same discipline we applied to SEO suites in keyword research tools under $50.
Jasper costs 12x Copy.ai per seat
Among the seat-priced tools, the spread is wider than the plan prices suggest, because the seat counts differ by five times.
| Plan | Annual-billed price | Seats | Cost per seat | Stated output limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copy.ai Chat | $24/mo ($288/yr) | 5 | $4.80 | "Unlimited Words in Chat" |
| Claude Pro | $17/mo ($200 up front) | 1 | $17.00 | Not stated as a fixed cap |
| Claude Team, standard seat | $20/seat/mo | Per seat | $20.00 | Not stated as a fixed cap |
| Jasper Pro | $59/mo, $69 monthly | 1 | $59.00 | None published |
Prices as displayed in September 2026. Copy.ai lists model access from OpenAI, Anthropic and Gemini on its Chat plan. Cost per seat is our arithmetic.
Copy.ai Chat works out at $4.80 per seat against Jasper's $59, roughly a twelve-fold difference, and it is cheaper per seat than any first-party chatbot subscription we priced. Both advertise unlimited words in their chat surface. That does not make Jasper indefensible — it sells brand voices, knowledge assets, audience profiles and marketing agents, and Copy.ai's cheap tier is a multi-model chat window rather than a marketing platform. But it does mean the premium has to be justified by those controls, because it is not justified by writing capacity, and neither vendor publishes a word allowance you could use to argue otherwise.
One caveat on the seat rows in our main table: cost per article on a flat subscription depends entirely on output. Claude Pro at $17 is $3.40 an article at 5 posts a month, $1.70 at 10 and $0.57 at 30. A flat fee only beats a per-article plan if you actually publish — which is the same trap we described in the real five-year cost of web hosting, where the advertised price and the price you pay are set by different variables.
What the $5 actually buys
The honest reading of that 59x gap is not that everyone should cancel their subscription and call an API. It is that you are not paying for words, so stop evaluating these tools on words.
Frase's $3.90 per article buys SERP analysis of the pages already ranking, an outline built from them, a content score to write against, and 50 audit pages a month to check what you have already published. Surfer's documents buy the same category of thing. Writesonic's $79 buys visibility tracking across AI answer engines. Jasper's $59 buys brand voice enforcement across a team. None of that is writing, and none of it comes with an API key.
What a model API gives you is a draft. There is no research step, no keyword targeting, no scoring, no publishing integration and no interface — you supply all of that, either by hand or by building it. For most people the honest cost of the API route is not the 9 cents; it is the afternoon spent assembling a workflow, plus the ongoing judgement calls that Frase would otherwise hand you as a checklist. Our guide to finding low-competition SEO keywords is essentially the manual version of the research layer these tools sell.
So the decision rule is straightforward. If you already know exactly what to write, pay for drafting and pay as little as possible — a chatbot subscription under about 15 posts a month, an API above it. If the hard part is deciding what to write, pay for research and treat the article allowance as a cap rather than a price, in which case Frase Starter at $39 is the cheapest verified way in. What is no longer defensible is paying dedicated-AI-writer prices for words alone, because words are the cheapest part of the stack now.
What we could not confirm
Stated plainly rather than filled in with numbers we could not read at source.
- ChatGPT subscription prices. openai.com/chatgpt/pricing, openai.com/api/pricing and the OpenAI help centre article on ChatGPT Plus all returned HTTP 403 to us. ChatGPT Plus is very widely reported at $20 a month, but we did not read it at source, so no ChatGPT plan price appears in any table on this page. The OpenAI API rates we do quote were read first-party from its developer pricing page.
- Whether Surfer documents reset monthly or annually. Its pricing page states "120 Documents" and "360 Documents" with no reset period, and third-party sources contradict each other. Monthly, Discovery works out at about $0.41 a document; annually, about $4.90 — a 12x difference that would move Surfer from cheapest to mid-table. We state no Surfer per-article figure anywhere as a result.
- What counts as one "AI article" or one Frase "article". Neither vendor publishes a word count, so we cannot confirm their unit matches our 1,500-word yardstick. If their article is shorter than ours, their real per-1,500-words cost is higher than the table shows, not lower.
- Jasper's actual usage limits. Its pricing page publishes no word, credit or generation allowance for the Pro plan, and mentions credits only for GEO Hub and Agents on the Business tier. We treated Pro as uncapped for the seat comparison, which is the reading most favourable to Jasper.
- Surfer and Copy.ai monthly rates. Neither displayed a monthly (non-annual) price to us, so both are quoted at their annual-billed figures — again the reading most favourable to them.
- Our token estimates. The 1.33 tokens per word ratio and the 15,000-input, 6,000-output session are ours, not any vendor's. They set the absolute API figures but not the ranking, since the same estimate applies to every API row. A much heavier research context would raise the API cost several times over and still leave it far below every subscription row.
Site-wide rule: a number we could not read at source does not get stated as a fact. Model prices in particular move often, and the AI writing category has already withdrawn an entire pricing tier once — verify on the vendor page before you commit.
FAQ
What does one AI-written SEO article actually cost?
Between about a penny and $8 for the same 1,500 words. Writesonic Starter sells 15 articles a month for $79, so $5.27 each. Frase Starter sells 10 for $39 on annual billing, so $3.90. The same piece drafted through the Claude Sonnet 5 API costs roughly 9 cents including a brief and two revision rounds, or about 2 cents in a single clean pass. The difference is not writing quality — most of these tools call the same class of model. It is that the subscriptions bundle SERP research, content scoring and site audits, and the API sells text alone.
Is there still a cheap AI writing tool for solo bloggers?
Not among the dedicated AI writers. Writesonic has discontinued the $16 to $49 individual plans that older roundups still quote and starts at $79. Copy.ai goes from $29 straight to $1,000 with nothing between. Jasper publishes nothing below $59 on annual billing. The cheap routes that remain are a general chatbot subscription — Claude Pro is $17 a month on annual billing — or a model API where a draft costs cents.
Why does Writesonic cost more per article on its bigger plans?
Because articles are not what the higher tiers sell. Its published allowances work out at $5.27 per article on Starter, $7.96 on Basic and $7.98 on Growth, a 52% rise. What actually grows is prompts tracked daily, site audits and seats. Writesonic repositioned from an AI writer into a generative engine optimisation platform, so the upper tiers sell AI-visibility tracking and articles come along as a by-product. If you want articles alone, its cheapest plan is its best value.
Is Jasper worth $59 a month?
Only if the brand controls earn it, because the writing capacity does not. Jasper Pro is $59 per seat on annual billing, $69 monthly, and publishes no word or credit allowance for that plan. Copy.ai sells 5 seats for $24 a month with unlimited words in chat, which is $4.80 a seat against Jasper's $59 — roughly twelve times. Jasper's case rests on brand voices, knowledge assets and audience profiles, so price it against those, not against words.
Should I just use the API instead of a writing subscription?
Only if you do not need the research layer. An API gives you text: no SERP analysis, no keyword targets, no content score, no audit of what you already published, no interface. Frase and Surfer charge a few dollars an article largely for that work. The API is right when you know what to write and need drafting done cheaply, and wrong when the hard part is deciding what to write in the first place.
Final recommendation
Count how many posts you actually publish in a month, then pick the meter that matches. Under about ten posts with no research needs, a chatbot subscription at $17 to $20 is the whole answer and costs $1.70 to $2 a post. If you need the research layer, Frase Starter at $39 on annual billing is the cheapest verified route at $3.90 an article, and its ladder genuinely improves as you scale. If you are buying AI-search visibility rather than writing, Writesonic is a different product in the same aisle — price it on prompts and audits and treat its article count as a ceiling.
What to avoid is paying a dedicated AI writer's premium for words. The category has repriced upward while raw model access has repriced downward, and the pricing pages no longer publish the word allowances that used to justify the gap. Words are now the cheapest part of publishing; research, judgement and distribution are not.
Related reads: comparison hub, Writesonic vs ChatGPT for SEO posts, keyword research tools under $50, what an hour of AI narration costs, and the best AI tools for content creators.